Black, Blue, and Breezy

It’s been a while since my last update, but I’ve come up with a solution to my lack of posts.  I’ve decided to hire my own full time crew of paparazzi.  That way, everything I say or do will automatically be blasted on the internet for all to see.  I told them all to expect a steady paycheck, so long as they shot me from my good side.  Well, the truth is that I simply forget to post on here.  But this just may be the last time you every 
here me say, “It’s been a while,” so you just stay tuned because I think I feel a little change rolling in with all these cooler Texas temperatures.

As fans of endurance sports, we all know about this little tiny race that happens every year in Kona Hawaii called the Ironman World Championships.  It’s been a few years since I last attended the race, so this year I decided to make the trip with my wife Ginger and stay a few weeks.  Kona is a beautiful place with sunshine, clear water, and some pretty cool lava rocks.  Despite the somewhat lengthy plane ride, the trip was great.  We rented a condo that was right off the run course; that way, all we had to do was step off our front porch to see the racers.  Some of the top contenders ran by so fast I barely had time to snap a photo but I managed to capture a good one of Craig Alexander on his way to victory, and a new Kona course record.

Shortly after I returned home from Kona, I made a trip up to Ohio to give a talk to a Tri Club.  While I was there, I made a stop at America’s Packard Museum.  I had a good time wandering around looking at their collection.  This red one seemed to grab my attention.  My paparazzi assured me that red was definitely my color.

I managed to have a few weeks downtime after Ohio before I headed off with a small crew to the Texas A&M wind tunnel for a long day of research.  The day started out a little rough due to the electricity going out in the hotel sometime during the night.  It’s a little disappointing to go to bed promised a hearty breakfast spread in the morning, only waking to find your options have dwindled down tap water and packaged muffins, but we all had some laughs and made the best of it.  My paparazzi assured me it would make for some good media buzz.  Did I mention how hard it is to pack your bag when all you have to see with is the light from your cell phone?  Gladly, the wind tunnel had plenty of electricity to churn the massive propeller blades and allow my team to accomplish a full day of research.  Let’s just say this venture was a “numbing success.”  The tunnel air was exceptionally cold this trip; so I felt a little bad for the tri clothing clad riders we kept running tests on in the tunnel.  The good thing is once you get cold enough you pretty much go numb, so I’m sure they didn’t feel too much.

Pro Ironman racer Amy Marsh of Team TBB, who has had a great year in 2011,  stopped by with her husband Brandon so I could check up on her fit.  I decided to put her in the tunnel for some testing and see if she could take the cold like a “pro.”  I know a top pro racer like Amy is already mentally tough, so I’m sure she just took it as just another day in the life of a professional.

~ by johncobbresearch on November 15, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

