Ouch Ouch and More Ouch

“Pain is temporary, pride is forever.”  Ok, got it.  How about in relation to kidney stones???  I think I’ll gladly pass on the pride for pain bargain on this one.  Nonetheless, I thought I’d show you my trophy.  Yes, there it is in all it’s glory.  I’ve had kidney stones in the past, but never one this size that didn’t have to be broken up prior to passing it.  Hopefully, none of you out there will ever have to deal with these nasty things, they are terrible.

In keeping on with the topic of pain, I’ll tell you about my recent trip to Red’s in Louisiana to teach a cycle trainer class.  I teach a spin trainer class every Tuesday & Thursday here in my hometown, but Red asked me to make a trip to his mega gym complex to torture the locals.  My trainer classes are known to be pretty brutal, but hey, “Pain is temporary, pride is forever” right?  I enjoyed teaching the class, and seeing my good friend Mark Miller while there for a few days.

We had a local mountain bike race here at Faulkner Park which had a good turnout.  Faulkner is a great, simple to follow, and hard to get lost mountain bike trail set here in Tyler, TX.  Congrats to one of my Cobb Riders, Nevada Thomason for taking the cake.  Nevada is a great mountain bike racer, and someone you should keep an eye out for if you see him on the trails sometime.  Weather was perfect, people were friendly, and the race went well.  Congrats to all the riders who put out a good effort!

 

~ by johncobbresearch on February 8, 2012.

2 Responses to “Ouch Ouch and More Ouch”

  1. John, first off I’m a huge fan and a big follower. Im not your average triathlete at 6’6″ and 205 pounds. Would you be willing to do a bike fit if I made the trip down from Illinois? I’m 26 and have competed in sprints and just finished my first full Ironman Madison Wisconsin last year on 9/11. I have been having great difficulty trying to get a proper bike fit and most fitters even seem rather iffy- not sure due to my height and size. I ride and XL trek ttx project one 9.9 tri bike with blackwell bars. I would love to hear from you and see what your thoughts are.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

