A Long Few Days

Last week, I think January 12th, my last uncle, Joe Cobb, passed away. He had a Bar-B-Que shop in Bossier City for 57+ years, I’ve eaten many, many, a good meal in this place. A lot of my readers in the Shreveport area will have gone there over the years, it was a popular, down home, kinda place. My Aunt, Sue Cobb, who also worked there everyday with Joe, said she plans to keep the place open so she will have something to do. That’s good for me because I still enjoy puttin’ a lip on some ribs every now and then.  The funeral was huge as he had so many good friends from over the years, it was a nice tribute to a really nice man.

The other day, while riding down the street, this 80’s Oldsmobile convertible caught my eye. It was so cool, it had a lace pattern in the paint, it had 24’s, it was lowered, it had a cool steering wheel and it seemed to run.  That last part was interesting to me because my current fun car no longer runs.  Let’s just say that if your Porsche motor gets to this point, there is a lot of work ahead of you.  I had decided to pull the motor in my car because it needed the valves adjusted and a couple of minor things. But I found this small oil leak so I decided to fix that, it turned ugly real fast. So now the crank is off to the machine shop, parts are everywhere and when I put it back together someday, I hope I fix the small oil leak.

Next week I’m off to California, I’m expo’ing at the Triathlete Magazine big whowa’ in SanDiego, then going to do some fittings at a shop in L.A.

~ by johncobbresearch on January 20, 2010.

2 Responses to “A Long Few Days”

  1. Sorry to hear about your Uncle, I think I am still carrying a couple fatbacks from his joint. Wow, that is a lot of pork in 57 years. Aloha

  2. Hey John. Sorry to hear about Uncle Joe. I’ve been to his BBQ joint a couple of times and met him. Good eatin’ and good people!

Leave a Reply

 
