Tying up loose ends

It’s been a busy past couple of weeks, I’ve been doing a bunch of fittings on racers getting ready to do Fall races, working on seats and working on my car.  I took the Porsche apart several weeks ago, actually 3 months, I think, because it had this irratating oil leak. I’ve now gotten it all back together, I’ve gone for a couple of lengthy test rides and I think it is all done now.  This was a huge project, I knew it would be but it was easier this time because I knew some of the intricate things necceasry to get the motor back together, so far, no oil leaks.

We went to Galveston for the Fourth of July, they have really done a great job of rebuilding there after the last Hurricane.  It was pretty crowded though so we ended up leaving early to get some piece and quiet. We had some great fireworks here in the neighborhood so plenty of excitement for the Fourth.

My rich cousin, Larry, wanted a new bike so I got him a Wilier Imperiale.  I built it up with all the latest widgets, put him in a new aggresive road position and turned him loose.  I heard that the 5:50 am ride group in Shreveport  has final say on if he is worthy but maybe they’ll let him ride with them a little.

  During the overhaul of the Porsche, I managed to completely tear my right rotator cuff.  I have almost gotten over  the surgery on my Left roator cuff/shoulder and now it looks like I’m facing another unpleasant ordeal.  I had an MRI done on Tuesday  but from my initial x-rays things don’t look so good.  I suppose my race season is over  for this year now, I’ll work on getting healed up and hopefully be ready for the Spring races. I seemed to be “bone on bone” with no cartlidge and this constantly hurts much more than my left shoulder did. 

   OK, I’m done whinning, I leave for China on Friday for a couple of weeks and I’m not looking forward to that long plane ride.  I’ll try to take some pictures of new bike things from China, it’s always interesting.

~ by johncobbresearch on July 7, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
