Old Again

I was discussing my Blog or rather someone was telling me about it and I came to realise that I post quick photo’s on my Facebook and then I tend to forget about my Blog.  I enjoy writing on this Blog, I just look up sometimes and realise that it’s been a few weeks. But, to catch you up on some of my going ons, I’ll give you some juicy details.

   I’ve had my Chevy Volt now for about 6 weeks and I have to say that for me, it’s a great car. The more you drive it, the more you become possessed about running on electricity and not buying gas, it’s a fun game.  I shot a short video for my local dealer, http://link.brightcove.com/services/player/bcpid846300556001?bckey=AQ~~,AAAAwnfF72E~,gXvstjMBNsD6eZzchGm7TK8jzDXGHgnQ&bctid=975075850001  

it was fun.  I am going to do my first road trip in the Volt this weekend so I’ll know a lot more about that very soon.

     Last week we had a 3 hour slot car race. We devided up into teams of two  and had a total of nine teams.  Had a couple of drivers in from Houston, Dallas, and Waxahatchie, it was a long hot afternoon.  After 5 hrs. of 103 degree heat everyone was pretty tired but it was a fun afternoon.   I ran well but had to leave early so my overall score kinda’ sucked, maybe next time.

    Yes, it was that time of year again, another birthday came around just for a quick reality check.  Ginger got me this diet chocolate cake with huge strawberrys on top, I got my ice cream just right and it went down well. I usually try to have some kind birthday ride so our friend Nona came over from Shreveport and we all went riding and swimming. It was windy so I decided not to ride my age in miles, eating pancakes seemed like a better idea.  Then on Tuesday night, I had my Birthday social ride from Elite bikes.  We had about 75 people show up in the 101 degree heat, it was a great ride though.  Afterwards we cooked hotdogs and assorted things, had lot’s to drink and snack on so I hope everyone had a lot of fun, I appreciated the company tonight.

   Robert and I went to Kansas to do the 70.3 race there, it was a long but educational trip. I had not swam in my wetsuit at all before the race and on race morning, it was white capping and very rough water. I started the swim pretty well but about half way I began to realise that I was extremely tired, swimming against the shoulder tightness of my wetsuit was taking a much bigger toll on me than I had thought it would. I had to side stroke the last couple of hundred yards as my right arm would only drag along side of me, when I got out of the water I was completely exhausted. So I decided not to do the bike or run, a hard descission at the time but I believe it was the smart thing to do.  I need a lot more work on my shoulder after my Rotator cuff surgery to regain some strength, a quick slap of reality helped that descission.   All of my other training is coming along well though.  I’m back to doing Pilates, it’s amazing how pitiful I am at that but the girls are fun so I suppose i’ll keep going.  My riding is finally starting to come back a little, Cento is treating me well and I am trying to be worthy of that ride.

  My next tri adventure will be the Waco Olympic race in July, should be another fun race day.

~ by johncobbresearch on June 28, 2011.

2 Responses to “Old Again”

  1. Happy Belated Birthday, Johnny!

  2. HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY, JOHNNY!!!

Leave a Reply

 
